On February 11, 2018, the State of Maryland passed the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act, which requires employers to offer paid sick and safe leave (SSL) to eligible employees who are not already provided equivalent leave benefits under existing policies. Employees who are regularly scheduled to work a minimum of 12 hours per week will accrue paid SSL at a rate of 1 hour of SSL for every 30 hours worked. The law also does not apply to employees under the age of 18.
Who will be impacted?
- Hourly exempt and nonexempt staff
- Hourly faculty
- Hourly undergraduate and graduate students
What can SSL be used for?
- Absence from work due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking committed against me or a family member
- To care for or treat mental or physical illness, or condition
- To obtain preventative medical care for me or a family member
- To care for a family member with mental or physical illness, injury, or condition
- For maternity or paternity leave
A family member includes a spouse, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling.
Q & A
What If ...
Last updated: June 29, 2018